Blogging for the sake of blogging

It is always tricky, your first blog. What do you say? Do you have something to say? If you don’t, should you even consider blogging? Well, today I shall write in my blog simply because I can. I had considered, at some length, what to write about today and then suddenly it struck me – the weird experience I had this morning.

When I woke up I didn’t jump out of bed as I usually do. It was 7 and still dark outside as it is usually is during July in Cape Town. The air in my flat was particularly cold and eerie. The alarm on my Blackberry didn’t seem to annoy me this morning. I could hear it, but its usual “Get Up!” tone didn’t have its usual effect. I grabbed my phone which sleeps next to me every night, if the battery isn’t dead, and put the alarm on “Snooze”. “Just five more minutes,” I thought to myself as I shifted to wrap myself in my blanket again. So I lay there half awake waiting for my phone to start screaming again, but I waited and waited for what felt like half an hour. Eventually I thought that I must have hit the “Dismiss” button by accident and now I was going to be late for work. I turned to check the time again and only two minutes had passed – weird, I know.

Then something even more weird happened – I felt this unusual urge to write a poem about this seeming time shift. I jumped out of bed, switched my laptop on and started typing. The end product was a poem called, “Time Slowed Down for Me this Morning”.

I will edit it when I get home and post it tomorrow!

 

 

One thought on “Blogging for the sake of blogging

  1. This made me chuckle. I love it. Very well written. Can’t wait for the poem tomorrow. I’ll be glued to my screen…

Leave a Reply

