Musical Markers and the Summer of the Banjo

Daily PromptMusical Markers

We all have songs that remind us of specific periods and events in our lives. Twenty years from now, which song will remind you of the summer of 2014?

 

The summer 2013/2014 was the summer of the banjo. Bands like The Lumineers and Mumford & Sons are what stand out for me. The banjo has even been featured in house music as well with Avicci’s “Hey Brother” for example. To me this is nothing new, Every year during summer, the Cape Town Minstrels would march through the streets of my neighborhood and the lead musician was always the toothless man with banjo in his hand.

 

Toothless man with Banjo in hand

Hey toothless man

with banjo in hand

I like that tune you’re playing

best keep you mouth shut and not sing along

Cause I don’t understand a word you’re saying.

 

But keep playing your jingle jangles and

marching in spingle spangles

you’re creating memories I’ll never forget

as you round the corner I see you first

followed by a string quartet.

 

20 years from now

I will always remember how,

how much joy you brought to the community

yes you toothless man

with banjo in hand, marking my summer memory.

2 thoughts on “Musical Markers and the Summer of the Banjo

Leave a Reply

